What temp for Beer Can Chicken?

CHICKEN, DUCK, PIDGEON, QUAIL, TURKEY ETC
Ilikeitburnt

Post by Ilikeitburnt »

Hi Guys,

I'm brand new to BBQ'ing and thought I'd try out a Beer Can chicken for dinner tonight, I've searched the forum but can't seem to find an answer.

Can someone please recommend a temp (degrees celcius) to cook a 2kg beer can chook in my Masport gas BBQ?

Thanks in advance for all help.
titch

Re: What temp for Beer Can Chicken?

Post by titch »

Cheers
Titch
Ilikeitburnt

Post by Ilikeitburnt »

Thanks for the receipe and reply Titch, now I just need to work out what's a low heat? lol
Meat and eat

Post by Meat and eat »

Try 200 C then adjust up or down next time to suit.

Cheers

Meat and eat
"My mind is made up. Please don't confuse me with facts."
Amfibius

Post by Amfibius »

That website suggests a target temperature of 80C. I think that is too high. I have been cooking mine to a temp of 60C for the breast and 65C for the legs for quite a while now. This temperature will result in the marrow still being red, but it is safe to eat. If you are uncomfortable with this, I would suggest 65C for the breast and 70C for the legs.

As for cooking temperatures, "low" heat is anything between 100-130C. At this temperature, it will take 60-90 minutes for your chicken to get to be cooked. The advantage is that low heat is more controllable and you are less likely to overshoot your target temperature. The disadvantage is that low heat doesn't crisp the skin up nicely. For this reason, I suggest two stage cooking - a prolonged cook to get your chicken up to cooking temperature, then remove your chicken and rest in foil for about 20 minutes. Whilst your chicken is resting, build up an inferno in your BBQ (suggest 250-300C) then return your chicken for 5-10 minutes - enough to crisp up the skin but not overcook your chicken. Your chicken is ready for serving after another 5 minutes rest.