Pork Ribs and wood chunk smoking question!

All Meats Including BEEF, PORK, LAMB & GAME
austingarmin

Pork Ribs and wood chunk smoking question!

Post by austingarmin »

Hi everyone!

I'm an complete newb bbq with a million questions. I use a 57cm Weber kettle with Briquettes.

I had a very meaty rack of spare ribs ~ 2kgs in weight from Costco. I did a try brine yesterday night and today used a dry rub made of Brown sugar, white sugar, salt, pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, chilli powder.

Ended up cooking for ~4 hours uncovered - 2 hours foiled - 1 hour uncovered with intermittent saucing (sauce made of Brown sugar, tomato paste, rub contents, sauteed onions)
- Had to go 4 hours initially because temps kept spiking up to 300F+ at one stage had to take the grill and meat off to remove coals because temps would not go down with bottom vent completely closed.
- I had two water pans, one large one visible in the picture beneath meat and one small ones directly on grill above coals.
- I used 2x hickory chunks weighing prox 150gm and 2 small pouches of oak chips.
- I used the minion method

End result - Ribs had a really good flavour HOWEVER were dry, on the tough side (meat took abit to take off the bone). 'smoke' ring was less defined than the first time I made them. Smoke flavour much less as well.

Questions -
1. Were the ribs dry because temps were too high? I could never get it below 260F...

2. Why do you think the ribs were ...not tender? I did foil for for the full 2 hours.

3. The wood chunks would not smoke until >290F...the chunks were placed on the grill directly above the coals. I also could not get the thin blue smoke and the smoke was mostly billowing white smoke (which made me remove the chunks several times). I tried placing the chunks directly on the coals in the middle of the cook but still only got billowing white smoke. The chunks eventually darkened to black.