Where can I buy american competition rubs in AU?

SAUCES, RUBS, MARINADES, BRINES ETC
joey2810

Post by joey2810 »

Hi guys,

I'm new to aussiebbq and have been bbqing for a couple years now and recently moved into the baby back/pork spare ribs domain. My question is does anyone know where to purchase rub brands such as plowboys, smokin' gunz, EAT, killer hogs etc in Australia. My reason is that I want to know if there much difference between my DIY rub and the competition rubs, and cause i've heard there pretty spectacular.

Any help would be appreciated :-)

Joey.
Smokey

Re: Where can I buy american competition rubs in AU?

Post by Smokey »

It's everywhere Joey, every man and his dog is selling it.
Check out the vendors section, USA foods in Melb are a good source.
If your making it yourself now, don't get too excited. IMO we get fresher base spice here and what you make is probably superior.
The only US rub that gets more then a humpf out of me is Old Bay seasoning. It's actually different.
Some are ok as far as freshness goes, but they all seem to taste the same
If trees screamed when we cut them down, We wouldn't. If they screamed all the time we would.
http://www.aussiecue.com.au
2browndogs

Post by 2browndogs »

Interesting SM - i was looking at the old bay the other day, USAfoods are nearby......may have to try it :D
Smokey

Post by Smokey »

Just had a Re read of what I said, Maybe some folks will love various US import rubs and I should not take away from that.
I'm just jaded and bored of it so it's my own personal problem and in no way suggest that they are no good or not worth using. I was wrong, one should try as many as they can.
If trees screamed when we cut them down, We wouldn't. If they screamed all the time we would.
http://www.aussiecue.com.au
Commander Cody

Post by Commander Cody »

Smokey wrote:It's everywhere Joey, every man and his dog is selling it.
Check out the vendors section, USA foods in Melb are a good source.