Girello roast - suggestions

Post your recipe requests and cooking questions in this setion. Not for general discussions.
gnol

Post by gnol » Sat Oct 27, 2012 1:19 pm

Hi fellow 'qers.
I picked up a piece of beef labelled girello roast and I have no idea how to cook it. I've never used this piece before. Low and slow? High and fast? Cut into steaks?
So help me out with suggestions.

gnol

dales133

Post by dales133 » Sat Oct 27, 2012 1:25 pm

Seen it plenty of times but never tried it, be interested on sugetions

twelfthmanshearing

Re: Girello roast - suggestions

Post by twelfthmanshearing » Sat Oct 27, 2012 1:30 pm

Girello is not suitable for low and slow. It's too lean. It's the round muscle from a piece of silverside. It roasts ok, but don't overcook it. I wouldn't take it beyond medium rare - medium, otherwise it will be dry. It makes good jerky if you are interested in that, slice it in thin strips lengthways. It's ok as a steak, but not outstanding as it can be dry. Slice it across the grain. It is often sliced super thin and called minute steak in the supermarkets. It takes marinade well, but again, don't cook it beyond medium or it will be dry.
Last edited by twelfthmanshearing on Sat Oct 27, 2012 4:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Cheers
Adrian

titch

Post by titch » Sat Oct 27, 2012 2:21 pm

gnol wrote:Hi fellow 'qers.
I picked up a piece of beef labelled girello roast and I have no idea how to cook it. I've never used this piece before. Low and slow? High and fast? Cut into steaks?
So help me out with suggestions.

gnol
maybe try Smokeys idea under the heading 2 hungry Italians
Cheers
Titch

dales133

Post by dales133 » Sat Oct 27, 2012 4:55 pm

Make good pastrami to I'd imagine

gnol

Post by gnol » Sat Oct 27, 2012 6:53 pm

dales133 wrote:Make good pastrami to I'd imagine
Yes. I think it is time I did my first pastrami and I was just thinking not long ago about making one. And this piece definitely looks like it could become good pastrami.