Advice appreciated on my first Brisket - Dusty Moose Smoker

Post your recipe requests and cooking questions in this setion. Not for general discussions.
Kevwing

Advice appreciated on my first Brisket - Dusty Moose Smoker

Post by Kevwing »

Thought i'd just tell my experience since i am new to smoking.

Any advice would be really appreciated.

Meat: Brisket 4-5lb
Smoker: Dusty Moose
Temperature: 200-250F
Fuel: Standard Heatbeads and Cherry wood
Cooking time: 14 hours

So overall, good value for money. Considering Charmate brand for the same product is going at $250 and the WSM is ridiculously expensive compared to the USA. I understand the basics of smoking at this stage

So i was making a 4-5lb brisket flat, just to test and try get the knicks and knacks out of the smoker to try understand it. i thought i had enough time since most people say 7 hours is enough for a brisket of the size.

I did the minion method and used about 4kg of charcoal with pieces of cherry wood

It took a while for the smoker to really kick up to the right temperature 200-250F ( excuse myself as all the tutorials etc i'm using say in Fahrenheit and cant be bothered converting it) . Think about half hour before it got up to that temperature at 5:30pm

Threw in my brisket and babysat it for a while until i could get the temperature somewhat consistent.
Then babysat it for about another 1.5 hours,I guess im struggling a little bit with controlling the smoker since it only really had the 1 damper at the bottom and 1 top vent.
After watching a video, someone suggested that when you are just shy of the desired temperature you knock back the air intake and let it do the rest. i.e ease into the desired temperature.

However, i had to leave for about 3 hours and left the thermometer with my brother in law. He told me he did nothing and it reached a consistent temperature between 220-240F for 3 hours.