Newbie Question From First Time Kamado User

Post your recipe requests and cooking questions in this setion. Not for general discussions.
DonR

Newbie Question From First Time Kamado User

Post by DonR »

I don't why why I put myself under this kind of pressure! I'm having a few people over for New Year's Eve and decided to cook some pulled pork for sliders on a brand new kamado I've got zero experience with. I've done some online research and video watching but one aspect of firing up a kamado eludes me. I understand that I need to aim for a rack temp of around 110-120 deg C but I'm not sure how to arrive at that temp. Once the fire is initially started do I keep vents near closed to allow the temp to rise to the target temp but risk the fire not establishing itself? Or do I get the fire well established first and then close up the vents to bring the temp down to target? Hope that makes sense.
12x7

Re: Newbie Question From First Time Kamado User

Post by 12x7 »

I wrote the Kamado 101 post a few year ago.

https://www.aussiebbq.info/forum/viewto ... 15#p150056

Lot's of tips to help you out. Alot of videos are in the post. If you can't see them on your PC try using explorer as it doesn't block the video scripts like Chrome and Firefox browsers.

Here's a quick way to get you going.

* Load up the firebox fully with lump charcoal.
* Open top and bottom vents wide open
* Lid open. Put a couple of firelighters in amongst the charcoal in the centre. Use natural firelighters eg Samba from Bunnnings and not the chemicals ones.
* Light firelighters. Put deflectors, racks etc in. Close top.
* Wait until dome thermometer reaches about 110C. Depending on charcoal this may take 30 minutes.
* Close top vent to about two match stick width is till open
* Close bottom vent to quarter open

If the temp keeps rising, close the bottom vent some more. Do the opposite if the temp drops too much.