Authentic Italian Pizza Dough Recipe Instructions

PIZZAS, BREADS, CAKES & DESERTS ON BBQ
MASTER YODER

Post by MASTER YODER »

Hello Everyone,

I thought I would post up an instructional step by step on how I make (the world's best pizza dough) using a recipe from Ken Forkish with what is regarded as the worlds best pizza flour from Antico Molino Caputo, Chefs Tippo "00" Pizzeria Flour.

I have been making pizza's in a wood fired oven for more than 3 years now and experimented with many recipes and types of flour, this is by far the best recipe and the best for 2 very clear and simple reasons:
  • 1: Hydration - % mixture of water to flour. Ken Forkish from Ken's Artisan Bakery has won numerous awards for his bread and pizza making skills, his single point of difference to most recipes is to use a higher % of water and to have a longer fermentation period, which develops a more complex flavour profile and makes the dough lighter and extremely easy to work with.
    2: Flour - Using Antico Molino Caputo Flour. Do a google search and see what everyone who owns a wood fired oven is using, the strong user base, loyalty and proven results position this flour, with no real equal. The flavour is superb and it is rare that a real pizza restaurant can offer anything comparable to what I can achieve at home with my wood fired pizza oven.
Obviously, this recipe is best for use in a wood fired pizza oven, however I am sure you can use it in a Komado, Weber or even Pellet Cooker, Hector has been using this recipe in his Komado Komodo and he has been enjoying some fantastic pizza.
As you long as to stick to the recipe and the 2 guiding principles of the type of flour and the % hydration you will be fine. You will note that many pizza dough recipes are using only 50-60% hydration, I think this is why this recipe is so good in terms of flavour, but also so easy to work with when you forming your dough ball into a pizza base.