Newbie at charcoal and Kamado. Emberpak?

Charcoal cookers (such as Weber Kettles)
Pickeee

Newbie at charcoal and Kamado. Emberpak?

Post by Pickeee » Sun Nov 04, 2012 11:55 pm

Firstly hi all!

Just bought a KJ last week and must say am very impressed. Looking at buying some charcoal and found Emberpak 10mins away from home.

I am thinking of going and buying a couple of bags from them but am wondering what would be the best types to buy for a kamado. I have been cooking a range of meals from steak, to smoking ribs, pizza, and am looking at doing a slow cooked roast this week. I bought a couple of bags of Diggers lump charcoal but it's expensive.

Joeka

Re: Newbie at charcoal and Kamado. Emberpak?

Post by Joeka » Mon Nov 05, 2012 8:37 am

Hi & welcome!

I've got no experience with Emberpak, but whatever charcoal you buy have a feel of the different bags & try to get one with lots of bigger chunks - better for hot cooking as you'll get more air circulation around them. Use the smaller shrapnel for low & slow, in a pyramid lit at the top. If they're off a pallet, grab a bag from the top if you can as it will be less crushed.

Hogsy

Post by Hogsy » Mon Nov 05, 2012 8:54 am

Emberpak is great. The owner is a member here and normally gives a discount to other forum members
I like the stick the best. I think it's all mangrove charcoal from Asia gives off a great smell and burns well
Viva La Charcoal Revolution
Team Go To Jail - Lifetime member!

Livewire

Post by Livewire » Mon Nov 05, 2012 9:34 am

I second what Hogsy said

David is very accomodating.

Get a combiation of stick & lump charcoal bags and also get a few boxes of the compressed and carbonises "robot turds". For low and slow I use a 50/50 mix whilst a quick cook for steak etc is mostly charcoal with any left over turds from prior cook (they light faster when previously burnt)

Glenn
Kamado slow it goes as those lovely red embers glow