Weber Kettle or Hooded Spit?

Charcoal cookers (such as Weber Kettles)
luke-h

Weber Kettle or Hooded Spit?

Post by luke-h »

Hi All,

Love this forum; have lurked for a while. I'm new to BBQ and have gotten started by picking up a smoker (thanks to this forum - see https://www.aussiebbq.info/forum/viewto ... =1&t=17661). I'm looking to compliment this with something for general charcoal grilling and ideally spit roasting. I am tossing up between

1. Getting a Weber Kettle and the Weber rotisserie addon (or similar addon unit)
2. Getting a hooded spit unit - something like this: https://www.dizzylamb.com.au/spit-roast ... bbq-detail

Money will a factor eventually but I'd rather work out the "right answer" first and then look at the costs and ways to buy.

Can a hooded spit unit function as a charcoal grill like the Weber? Or does the Weber work the way it does because of its kettle shape and because Webers just work?

And if i go the Weber - can I add a rotisserie and produce lamb and pork roasts like a spit unit would?

I have noticed that everyone with the Weber rotisserie seems to use it with the lid on. I know the Weber can do indirect cooking for normal roasts, i.e. with the lid on, but isn't the idea of a spit roast to do it slowly in the open air? Will the Weber work for this too or am I missing something?

Thanks heaps
luke-h

Re: Weber Kettle or Hooded Spit?

Post by luke-h »

One more question sorry - it looks like with the Weber, if I use the rotisserie addon, I can only put one thing on the rotisserie and can only cook one thing at a time. Is that right? Is there any way to cook more?

Thanks again
Old Dave

Post by Old Dave »

The Weber Kettle with a rotisserie unit is one great cooker and would be my vote. Here are some of the cooks that can be done on one of these units.

These are a couple of chickens on the spit.

Some chicken wings in a basket on the spit.

Bottom round roast on the spit to be used for roast beef.

Nine pound ham on the spit.