Newbie to BBQ Smoking

Any general items, polls
80Dave

Newbie to BBQ Smoking

Post by 80Dave »

Hi,

Complete Newbie to Smoking / BBQing , I have watched some YouTube videos etc since our old weberq (GAS) is going on 15 years + (Hand me down from parents).

I have decided to go all out for a new BBQ , got an oklahoma Joes 3 in 1 combo smoker / charcoal / gas grill. I have seen a lot of videos on offset fire management etc i also got some temp probes to go with the BBQ so i can monitor the grill level temp and food temp.

My main question is the following:

Is there a recommended easier or easiest meat to smoke for a complete beginner. i.e (Pork, Beef Brisket , Chicken etc) and of course easiest cut of said meat?
Lovey
Forum Moderator

Re: Newbie to BBQ Smoking

Post by Lovey »

G'day 80Dave and welcome aboard.
I've never seen one of those units before, it sounds like it would cover most bases.

As for a choice of meat to start you on your smoking journey, you can't go past a beef chuck. It's a lot more forgiving than brisket and has a beautiful flavour. I know that brisket is often seen as the 'holy grail' of smoking, but it can be a tricky cut to get right.
Some other suggestions would be a pork collar butt/shoulder (Boston butt as they're referred to in the USA) or a lamb shoulder.

Enjoy your new toy,
Steve
12x7

Post by 12x7 »

I guess it's one of these??
https://www.oklahomajoes.com.au/smokers ... ill-combos

Since we're not probably seasoning the cooker I would suggest a chicken.

Start off with a supermarket one from Coles or a Steggles.
80Dave

Post by 80Dave »

Yes 12x7 thats the one finally arrived today asssembly tomorrow :), going to season with oil first as suggested on a few videos i have seen to help preserve it.
Davo
Forum Administrator

Post by Davo »

To test it out, I'd suggest some Chicken Maryland pieces, they're hard to stuff up.