What surface do you use to start your chimney?

Any general items, polls
Post Reply
cs_rlewis
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2018 2:30 pm

What surface do you use to start your chimney?

Post by cs_rlewis »

Hi guys,
Just a question on what surface you use to start your chimney of charcoal?
When i first light a chimney I use the cooking grate which is fine... However once if I need to add more fuel Im struggling to find an ideal surface. Dont really wanna go inside and put the chimney over a stove. Last time I lit on the pavement on my balcony and the firestarters left burns marks on the outdoor tiles (might have been from the packet as I use the redhead firestarters where you dont have to remove the wrapping) - not ideal as I live in a rental.
Any ideas?
Thanks
titch
Posts: 5827
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 12:51 pm
Location: Sth East Melbourne

Re: What surface do you use to start your chimney?

Post by titch »

Alfoil tray maybe?
use a cheap wire grill to elevate them
Cheers
Titch
the dane
Posts: 972
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2012 2:23 pm

Re: What surface do you use to start your chimney?

Post by the dane »

I use a 9kg old gas bottle, its also camp oven, heater. But no mess.
Attachments
15281894884542.png
15281894884542.png (147.07 KiB) Viewed 2355 times
15281894707321.png
15281894707321.png (172.57 KiB) Viewed 2355 times
15281894399250.png
15281894399250.png (207.21 KiB) Viewed 2355 times
Image
cs_rlewis
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2018 2:30 pm

Re: What surface do you use to start your chimney?

Post by cs_rlewis »

Haha nice setup.
I might actually buy some extra foil trays and light them on there. They are pretty cheap.
12x7
Posts: 701
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2013 5:32 pm

Re: What surface do you use to start your chimney?

Post by 12x7 »

I take the main grate out of the kettle and put the chimney on the fire grate.
choicebro
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2014 7:54 pm

Re: What surface do you use to start your chimney?

Post by choicebro »

You could use a fire brick, a quick google search came up with a 300x300x50 refractory floor tile rated to 1500 degrees for $15.
https://www.sydneyfirebricks.net.au/sho ... alumina-2/
Davo
Forum Administrator
Posts: 5213
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2008 2:44 am
Location: Down & Out in Beverly Hills....NSW that is....

Re: What surface do you use to start your chimney?

Post by Davo »

Yeah fire bricks or pavers should be ok....never had any explode before....just ensure that no kiddies or animals will come in contact with it.

Davo
Moderator/ Admin

Weber Q320
Weber Performer Kettle
Weber WSM 18.5
Noony
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2017 7:52 pm

Re: What surface do you use to start your chimney?

Post by Noony »

Paving stone. Or a couple of house bricks

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

excited-newbie
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 7:34 pm

Re: What surface do you use to start your chimney?

Post by excited-newbie »

hi I use an old electric frying pan with a couple of holes drilled in the bottom
musty
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2018 11:33 am

Re: What surface do you use to start your chimney?

Post by musty »

Get a 300x300 or similar concrete paver from flower power for about $6
Or keep a look out on Gumtree for something similar being given away.
I use this as a base to put my fire lighter and charcoal chimney on sometimes.

Musty
Unzippy
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2018 1:04 am
Location: Melbourne

Re: What surface do you use to start your chimney?

Post by Unzippy »

Google "bbq chimney exploding concrete" and then check out the images.
I wouldn't rest my chimney on concrete...
Davo
Forum Administrator
Posts: 5213
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2008 2:44 am
Location: Down & Out in Beverly Hills....NSW that is....

Re: What surface do you use to start your chimney?

Post by Davo »

I just use the charcoal grate of my weber kettle...then when ready...turn over and dump hot coals on the grate to where i want them.

Davo
Moderator/ Admin

Weber Q320
Weber Performer Kettle
Weber WSM 18.5
nic0
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 4:26 pm

Re: What surface do you use to start your chimney?

Post by nic0 »

I was using house bricks but i just bought a small round fire pit so i can light it on my deck and keep it close to my smoker.
Groovy Gorilla
Posts: 371
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2014 11:56 am

Re: What surface do you use to start your chimney?

Post by Groovy Gorilla »

I put on the rambo burner and start it up that way
Image
chilling while grilling
Post Reply