Satsuma plum vinegar recipes

SAUCES, RUBS, MARINADES, BRINES ETC
doc dogg

Satsuma plum vinegar recipes

Post by doc dogg »

Hi all,
I bought some satsuma plum vinegar the other day and now I'm not sure what to cook with it or how to use it appropriately. My dad used to make his own satsuma plum wine when we had trees and it tended to get splashed into a lot of our marinades to add a sweet, fruity burst. The vinegar, whilst being delicious, has a bit too much "bite" to be used in the same way. I think it could be a good ingredient if I can just get a few recipes to make it work. Especially a pork marinade or something that would go with a duck breast.
Last edited by doc dogg on Sun Oct 28, 2012 9:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.
I'm not a real doctor Miss, but I'll have a look anyway.
Mountain Mick

Re: Satuma plum vinegar recipes

Post by Mountain Mick »

Hi Doc Dogg,
I would use your Satuma Plum Vinegar in place of white vinegar in these recipes of mine. would work really well, Satsuma Plum aka Blood Plums which are firm red flesh with a red skin plums very nice . MM :P :D :) :lol: :wink: 8)

Mountain Micks Fruity BBQ Sauce
© Mick Blake Baree
1 cup chopped dried dates
1 cup chopped prunes or dried apricots
2 medium onion minced
6 cloves garlic
6 tablespoons tomato paste
½ cup of vinegar
½ cup Worcestershire sauce
½ cup honey
½ cup brown sugar
5 tablespoons mustard
2 teaspoon black pepper
4 teaspoons liquid Hickory smoke (this optional for Smokey sauce)
2 teaspoon basil dried
1 teaspoon sage dried
1 teaspoon thyme dried
¼ teaspoon hot Chilli
1 teaspoon salt
½ cup molasses
Combine all the dry mix together in a bowl;
Sweat down onions till soft and clear and add chopped fruit, now Add the garlic, tomato paste and vinegar. When this has started to simmer add the rest of the ingredients. Simmer for 30 plus minutes and reduce to a sauce like consistency that you like I like mine thick so I cook it a little long and bottle while hot. Enjoy MM