Best way to cold smoke bacon

All about smokers hot and cold
Truman49

Best way to cold smoke bacon

Post by Truman49 »

Hi guys, thanks for adding me to this forum. I’m fairly new to smoking and haven’t brought a smoker yet.

I made some bacon awhile back and smoked it on my gas bbq using a small smoker box and wood chips. I used the far left burner and put the belly on the far right hand side of the bbq.

But I found that to keep the burner low so as not to raise the heat too much, it took ages for the wood chips to start to smoke. Then when they did they tended to smoke and burn very quickly.

Anyway take 2 I’m thinking of using on of those mesh tubes and smoker pellets. Doing it in the BBQ again but not worry about lighting any burners.

Is this the way to go? I’ve noticed some methods say smoke for4 hours or if the internal temp is at 150 for 90 minutes take it off. So does this mean we need to have some heat? Or can we smoke it with no heat at all?

Appreciate some suggestions?
Truman49

Re: Best way to cold smoke bacon

Post by Truman49 »

Did I post this in the wrong section perhaps???
hoddo

Post by hoddo »