Patio Reverse Flow Build

All about smokers hot and cold
rustoration

Patio Reverse Flow Build

Post by rustoration » Tue Jul 21, 2015 10:12 pm

Howdy all

I've been lurking around the boards for a while but as I am about to embark on a patio reverse flow build thought i would share the process and perhaps tap into some knowledge along the way.

As a bit of background, I've been smoking for a few years on a UDS (generally fairly successfully), but felt like the time was right to join the stick burners, increase my smoking capacity and tech myself to weld at the same time.

And so the build starts here...

Found this 250l compressor tank at a local machinery dealer, $120 delivered to the shed door. I've already made a bit of a start trimming off the excess compressor mount and a few of the pipe fittings to get a better idea of what i am dealing with.

Tank itself is approx 47cm diameter, 150cm long and approx 5.5mm thick. By my reckoning, I should end up with something like 1.2sqm of rack area, more than double that of two racks in the UDS.
Low n' slow... The art of bbq and classic VW's

rustoration

Re: Patio Reverse Flow Build

Post by rustoration » Tue Jul 21, 2015 10:35 pm

Next step (for me a least) was to come up with a decent design and play around with it in a CAD programme as I don't do so well with the whole engineering on the fly approach.

The design itself started with the best science I could find on the interweb which was Feldon's BBQ Pit / Smoker Calculator - http://www.feldoncentral.com/bbqcalculator.html - which seems to be regularly referenced by many USA builders and gets plenty of good reviews and feedback.

Once I applied my tank dimensions and pulled out the necessary supporting parameters (like firebox, air intake and chimney sizes) I used a free CAD programme to come up with a firm design with the intention of getting the necessary metal work laser cut in 6mm steel.